top of page

Accreditation of Construction Education Programs

In 1974, construction was accorded a higher level of professional status as a recognized discipline equal to architecture, engineering and business, with the founding of the American Council for Construction Education. This document presents the stages of growth of the Council beginning with events and activities that led to its birth through its maturation as a nationally and internationally recognized accreditation agency for post-secondary construction education programs.

This document was developed utilizing many resources and historical documents. Because of the amount of details found in the research stage a decision was made to only present important events, activities and decisions that served to nurture the growth of the Council. It may be that a few key items were inadvertently left out. However, since this is a living, dynamic document, future revisions can incorporate them if they are brought to the attention of the ACCE National Office.

As for any worthwhile cause, literally thousands of dedicated individuals were and continue to be involved to one extent or another to not only give birth to the American Council for Construction Education but also to insure its healthy growth. Space does not allow for the identification of all of these people. However, many of them are named in this document. To a great extent, the success of the Council is attributed to its leaders. For they brought the vision and hard work to overcome many challenges and move the Council forward in a professional manner. Those that deserve written recognition are especially the past and present Executive Directors/Vice Presidents and Presidents.

Those that served in the Executive Staff positions were I. Eugene (Stubbie) Thorson – 1974 - 1984 and Robert Dillon (In Memoriam) – 1984 to 1989. The current Executive Vice President, who has served since 1989, is Dr. DanielDupree. The energy and dedication of the Council’s past and present Executive Directors are appreciated by all who have worked with them.

The Presidents of the American Council for Construction Education brought and continue to bring their years of experience to guide the work of the Council.

  • Walter Nashert – 1974 – 1977 (In Memoriam)

  • A. C. Breckenridge – 1977 (In Memoriam)

  • Gerald J. McLindon – 1977 – 1980 (In Memoriam)

  • Dave Bevirt – 1980 – 1981

  • Don Halperin – 1981 – 1983

  • E. Grant Hesser – 1983 – 1985

  • Dan Dupree – 1985 – 1987

  • Richard Kafonek – 1987 – 1989

  • Roger W. Liska – 1989 – 1991

  • Dan Mardian – 1991 – 1993

  • Donald Ellison – 1993 – 1995 (In Memoriam)

  • Gordon Marshall – 1995 – 1997

  • Dave Mattson – 1997 – 1999

  • Herb McCaskill – 1999 - 2001

The writing of this document was the result of over a quarter of a century of dedicated effort by hundreds of individuals. The facts and figures presented herein have come from past communications, articles, minutes of meetings, testimony and other related sources. In some cases, the resources have been cited. For that information that was derived from meeting minutes, specific citations were not included. Minutes of all past meetings of ACCE are available from the national office. Space does not allow for acknowledging the names of all the individuals who contributed to the writing of the history of ACCE.

Being a dynamic document, it is the goal of ACCE to update this document on a regular basis. Readers are invited to submit ideas for its improvement and/or items to be considered for inclusion in future revisions.

It is the author’s hope that this history will be of interest to the readers and serves to record the key activities, events and decisions in the continuing growth of the American Council for Construction Education.



bottom of page